Tags

, , ,


Empathy is feeling what others feel and to some extent being able to express your feelings towards that person and offering compassion in return. It’s a small word, but have you ever thought of it seriously. I am really poor at empathizing with folks. I find it hard to express myself at times. Especially, at times like a funeral of a person who I didn’t ever know. But then, don’t you think it would make a difference if I would walk up to the relatives and shared a word of compassion with them? Empathy is basically putting yourself in another persons shoes and feeling what they feel. Most people don’t find it to hard and some even go to the extent of faking it.

A few years ago I used to work for a collection firm. A firm that collected debts from people who had no intention of paying whatsoever. I remember calling those people and being hung up on, and abused. Well, I decided to resign one day as I decided this job wasn’t for me. My manager walked up to me and told me to empathize with the people I was talking to and I would see a great difference. I wasn’t really sure how that would help, so I decided to give it a shot. You would not believe the results that it yielded. People were dying for someone to listen to them and feel what they felt. I did that and believe me, when I resigned from that company about 5 years later, the VP of operations followed me to the gate, trying to get me to change my mind. I had become the best collector the company ever had. Even though I had faked the art of empathy, it payed off big time.

I don’t know if this will help you or not. Most people already are aware of the term empathy. The question is, do you use it???

