Tags

, , , ,


I remember growing up in a middle class family where we used to be scared to ask for things for ourselves lest we be turned down. My dad was a successful businessman, but that was for himself. He didn’t pay any bills of the house neither did he care about educating us. I started learning to play the guitar when I was 5, by the time I was eleven I was doing gigs locally. The money I earned from those gigs went towards my education. I was luck to have got into a band that was well established and earned quite a bit. By the time I was 16, I started doing the vocals for my band. I love playing music because it keeps away the memories of my childhood.

Now I am 31 and am well established as a singer and guitarist. There was a time when I was depressed and had nothing to live for. This was the time when our band had split up and I was doing a regular job. It was frustrating. This was not something that I was born to do. I knew I was born to live in the spotlight. That is the place where I feel most comfortable. So while I was doing this regular job, I met a guy. We became good friends and one day we were discussing our lives and what we had done so far. He had come over to my place and he saw my guitar. He asked me to play something which I did. These were the exact words that he said to me. “Greg, you cannot fly if you are holding onto something, you have got to leave both hands to be able to fly.” These words hit me hard. I knew what he meant. I knew he wanted me to go out there and start playing music once again. That night I had hundreds of questions going through my mind. “What if I’m not as good as I used to be”? “What if I fail at this”? Then I remembered what my friend had said. That was the day my life changed. I had let go and had learned to fly. I like to think of this incident. It makes me realize how easily I had given away my life and my talent. Good thing I claimed back everything in time. And thank God for friends like that. And by the way, I have never met that guy ever since the day he said those words to me. His landlord said that he had gone back to his hometown. I tried calling him but with no luck.

So remember, to fly you have got to leave both hands. Leave behind all your insecurities, your fears and dare to do what you dream of.

